Spiritually Searching

Why is it that when I look for articles and blogs about women who understand what it’s like to be young and spiritually searching, I can never find any about college age women? All of my favorites that I’ve come across are always women who have already started their lives, with a spouse and lots of babies. They write articles that make my heart sing and my spirit soar and yet they don’t connect with me exactly where I am. I feel the comfort and warm blanket that is the beginning of their young lives, but they are not where I am. I am in college, and am still trying to figure things out, based on where I am in my spiritual journey. I want to talk to women who understand the way that I want to talk to my sorority sisters about faith. I swear if I read one more article to them about a mother seeing God in her children their going to think something very untrue about me. I don’t want to scare them with talk of strong women who are also mothers, but how mothers, daughters, and especially sisters help each other grow in their faith. I love Sarah Bessey, and I love her book Jesus Feminist, but she’s a mom and her college years are behind her. She talks about things that apply to my life, but what about the struggles of navigating friendships that I have with other women for other reasons than because we’re both moms. Which I’m not. A mom I mean. I love grown up world, and I have always been able to navigate it ahead of the curve, but I don’t have a fully grown up faith yet, and I, along with my sisters, are still working on getting there.

